Giving Back To My Community

Last summer I gave a presentation on my involvement at the Blanca Wetlands to a group of high school students from San Luis, CO. I loved it! This is the school I attended so it felt so amazing to work with students that I went to school with. I actually had one of the girls that attended my presentation tell me that I “give her hope!”

Growing up in such a small town made me feel like I was at a disadvantage because Centennial High School is a very small school. I felt as if I would never be able to compete with people from bigger schools, but I was wrong. I have learned that being successful is not based on where you come from, how big your high school is, or even how much money your family has. The factors that help you become successful are your ability to overcome obstacles, your perseverance, and your self discipline. And being optimistic does not hurt either! This spring I am continuing my community outreach at the schools I attended. I want to be a good example for the students who feel like I use to feel. I want to show the youth from my community that the sky is the limit- no matter where you come from!

Leave a Reply

