Black-bellied Plover

Surveying the shorebirds at The Blanca Wetlands last week was extremely exciting for me. While surveying pond 115 I spotted my first Black-bellied Plover! The first time I saw a Black-bellied Plover was in California for my training with Environment for the Americas, but this was my first time seeing one at The Blanca Wetlands and it was so exciting. Portland thought it was totally hilarious how excited I got when I spotted the plover and laughed at me for awhile, but it was still 100% awesome!

The Black-bellied Plover is not my favorite shorebird, but it is definitely at the top of my list. I find it so amazing how this little shorebird changes so dramatically from non-breeding plumage to breeding plumage. I think the fact that the Black-bellied Plover I saw was in breeding plumage made it that much better for me.

Black-bellied Plover in non-breeding plumage.

Black-bellied Plover in non-breeding plumage.

Black-bellied Plover in breeding plumage.

Black-bellied Plover in breeding plumage.

According to The Cornell Lab of Ornithology the Black-bellied Plover can be identified by the following:

  • Medium-sized to large shorebird.
  • Legs moderately long.
  • Neck short.
  • Bill short.
  • Head large and rounded.
  • Gray and black on back.
  • In breeding plumage, black from face to belly.
  • Rump white.
  • Large black spot in armpits.

For more information from The Cornell Lab of Ornithology  on the Black-bellied Plover and many other bird species you can go to www.allaboutbirds.org. This website offers amazing facts on various bird species and many really neat pictures.

Leave a Reply

