Just the Beginning

Training has been over for a week now, and I am amazed at how much I learned in just one week. Going away for a week with “strangers” can be a bit daunting, but all of us bonded and became great friends at the end of the training. It’s such a great feeling being surrounded by others who are passionate about the same things you care about the most.

We all had the chance to visit many places none of us had ever been to such as Cabrillo National Monument, Imperial & Torrey Pines Beach and the San Diego National Wildlife Refuge. By far, my favorite place had to be the tide pools at Cabrillo National Monument. Not only did we get so see a variety of shorebirds but the tide pools themselves were filled with little marine life, and we even got to see a baby seal. We met so many amazing people who want to see us succeed and are willing to help along the way, and I can’t thank them enough for coming all the way to San Diego to talk to us.

Here in Los Angeles, our first day of shorebird surveying for Carlos and me will be this Friday at Ballona Creek. I’m a bit nervous to start, but with the great training we received from all the mentors and all our days of practice, as well as all the reviewing I have been doing, I think I’m prepared. Bring on the shorebirds!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

