Pushing through the bad to Get to the Good

         “A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.”          Maya Angelou

I start with this quote because my week has been a rough one. I spent both my Monday and Tuesday out of the office for a funeral in my family. There are so many questions that bombard my mind at this point, but instead of looking for answers I am continuing on with my song. Just because I stopped, work did not! I got back and, of course, have plenty to do. I must thank Deisy for all the hard work she has put in. I came back to so much organization I have no idea how she does it all, but I love it. She definitely makes my life run smoother. We focused time on protocol and shifted the order of things so surveys can be done and be effective and efficient. I took a huge chunk of my time to focus back on the outreach aspect. I contacted the remainder of the schools in the valley that I had not already talked to and set up dates to meet which I am super excited for. I also put together an activities book for the kids that consists of coloring pages of shore birds as well as crosswords and other neat things that I loved to do as a kid. I must say contacting people doesn’t always happen as quickly as I’d like but somehow I got it taken care of and we are moving forward rapidly. I am counting down the days for when I will be done with school and can solely focus on all the experiences BLM has to offer. Next week cannot come fast enough, and I am ready to be back to full speed.

Leave a Reply

