DUCKS!

The snow slowly fell and began to cover the ground below. I stared into the horizon as the sun began to make its appearance. The sun light reflected across every tiny snow flake, making each one sparkle as it crossed my eyes.  Suddenly, I hear footsteps crunch on the soft snow rapidly approaching me. It was Lisa, the ornithologist, greeting me with a smile and a scope under her arm. We were ready to begin our day at the wetlands.  With the shorebirds yet to arrive, I had decided to join Lisa on a duck survey. After eight hours of looking at ducks, I became quite the expert 🙂 During the duck survey, I had to pleasure to meet the nicest salamander ever. Although it was 32 degrees Fahrenheit outside, he was basking on a warm rock enjoying the first days of spring. Yes… even with snow covering the ground, it was still considered spring to us.

Peanut butter, pine cones, string, and bird seeds covered a small 3 foot tall table, as Mianna and myself prepared to educate parents and 3rd graders about bird conservation.  My whole powerpoint presentation was in spanish and I was surprised at how well it went. It was the first time I have spoken about environmental issue in my native language. I really enjoyed it, and I could tell the parents did as well. After the presentation, we taught them how to make pine cone bird feeders. It was a really messy craft!!

Next week is jam packed with outreach! we have four readings and a whole afternoon with a class of third graders. I hope we will make an impact in their life!:)

Mr. Salamander

Mr. Salamander

Canada Goose on her nest

Canada Goose on her nest

Window Scope

Window Scope

Great Horned Owl and her nest

Great Horned Owl and her nest

Snow at the wetlands!

Snow at the wetlands!

 

Leave a Reply

