Amazed

As I looked through my binoculars and spotted three large birds in the distance. They were very large white birds with black flight feathers and huge yellow bills. I could not believe what I was looking at…… three American White Pelicans! When I think of a pelican, I picture it by a beach surrounded by sand and ocean water. Never would I have pictured a pelican in an inland like Colorado.  I continue to scan the area only to come across a large black bird with a very distiniguishable face shape. It was a Double-crested Cormorant. I am constantly amazed by the biodiversity that is found at the Blanca Wetlands. The more I explore and see in Colorado, the more I appreciate my home state. I am absolutely in love with this state! Proud to be a Coloradan 🙂

This week we also learned how hard it is to get a class to settle down while playing musical nests! This game teaches children about the dangers birds go through during migration. It is similar to musical chairs, so you can see why they get so out of hand. Its a great game to play! The kids have fun and learn a lot about birds in the process. We will have to come up with a better way to not let things get out of hand. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

