Summer Latino Leadership Summit

Summer Latino Leadership Summit has truly helped mold me into the person that I am. Deisy and I gave a presentation on introductions. Our goal was to prepare the students for their future career and the courage it takes to actually get there.

As I started the presentation I looked at every single one of them and realized it was once me that sat in those very seats as one of them. Looking back, I now know it was what I learned there that set me up for life. It taught me how to be a leader and not just a boss. It also taught me how to present myself and the hard work and dedication that it takes to achieve dreams.

We set up our presentation with our volunteers so the students would understand that not everyone is going to be interested in what they have to say. We had Portland as a professional that ignored their introduction and did not interact with them, Stefan was a distracted professional, Deisy interacted very little, and I was the professional that engaged and continued with a conversation. It was beyond powerful when the kids went from Portland’s to mine and didn’t know how to keep eye contact because before there was no communication between the two.

I had a blast and was glad to see the hot week finally coming to an end, because not only was I attending SLLS, I also had to continue working on the process to get our festival underway. I realize my internship is quickly approaching its end and for that I am sad, however, I also understand that school is around the corner and this nerd is ready to start her sophomore year!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

